Pardon my ignorance

I was browing Pinterest a couple of days ago, looking through my feed, when I came across a great pin for school librarians that mentioned “passive programming.” I had no idea what that was, so I clicked on the pin, and immediately it hit me– OH, this is the kind of programming I’ve been doing for YEARS, I just had no idea there was an official name for it! Do you all know what passive programming is? Yeah, I’m sure you’re all sitting out there thinking, ‘yes, Kate, we know.’ Ok, well… whoops! But in case you’re not sure what it is, it’s basically whenever we post signs, posters, boxes to be filled with answers, etc. Here are some examples:

http://tametheweb.com/2012/02/14/question-of-the-moment-nicest-thing/

http://fvrlcs.blogspot.com/2013/05/help-yourself.html

http://mlissinginaction.wordpress.com/2013/04/11/passive-programs-and-other-experiential-library-doings/

I’m kind of obsessed with all of these ideas right now, but then again, I guess I’ve been obsessed for years because it’s been part of my daily practice from my days even at the public library. I just thought I’d share this tidbit with you in case. What is it… the more you know? There you go!

Leave a Reply

