Everyone’s book obsession, The Fault in Our Stars

If you haven’t read The Fault in Our Stars by John Green yet, odds are you’re not a teenager or YA librarian. But you’ve probably heard of it by now if you’re any kind of bibliophile because the hype it has been getting is phenominal. It helps that the movie adaption is coming out in June (watch the trailer: http://youtu.be/9ItBvH5J6ss). But listen- the hype is actually TOTALLY WORTH IT! If you’ve read any of John Green’s books before, then you know his style and voice already, and this book stays true to his typical form. The teens are smart and witty, and maybe a little hyper-literate compared to your average teen, but that’s ok because I know plenty of sharp teens who want to read books about other smart teens and won’t settle for schlock. The catch here, which you already know if you’ve read the book or just watched the trailer, is that these teens are dealing with terminal illness. Boom. Is it heart-wrenching? Absolutely! But I felt so refreshed reading this book because at least it feels true to life and it shows that not every YA book has to end tied up in a cute little bow.

If you’re sick of dystopian action triologies (and even I am a little bit, and that’s my favorite genre!), then I implore you to give this book a shot. I don’t care if you’re over 18, I promise it’s a worthwhile read.

Heck, I loved the book so much I painted my library to match it:

fiction&cafe

If that’s not love, I don’t know what is.

I’m also ashamed to admit this, but I only just found out today that Hazel Grace is based off of a real girl:

http://shine.yahoo.com/healthy-living/the-real-girl-behind–the-fault-in-our-stars–163043295.html

Sadly, Esther has passed away, but at least her legacy will live on in some way through the book and now the movie.

READ IT, PLEASE!

 

Leave a Reply

